Cooperative News

Strong showing for PEC at International Lineman’s Rodeo

Apprentices shine against world’s best

On Oct. 19, PEC lineworker apprentices and journeyworker teams competed against the best in the world at the International Lineman’s Rodeo in Bonner Springs, KS.

2019 International Lineman's Rodeo
Congratulations to Team PEC on another excellent performance!

The competitors brought home impressive results! Apprentices did particularly well, with seven top-five finishes across five different categories. Apprentice Lineworker Darren Donhauser took home third place in the Best of the Best category; an incredible performance against 320 competitors.

“It makes you so proud, walking across that world stage to bring something home for your cooperative,” Donhauser said. “It’s a huge team accomplishment. Competing is something I do individually, but training is nowhere near an individual task. Celebrating with your team and seeing how excited everyone gets, it’s a feeling I really can’t describe.”

PEC’s strong performance demonstrates our lineworkers’ drive to excel in their work, and comes on the heels of winning an incredible 18 trophies across eight different categories at July’s Texas Lineman’s Rodeo in Seguin.

Here is the complete list of PEC’s top-five finishes:

  1. Apprentice Best of the Best: Third place Darren Donhauser
  2. Overall Apprentice, Cooperative Division: First place Darren Donhauser, third place Caleb Brodock, and fifth place Garrit Afman
  3. Apprentice Speed Climb: Second place Garrit Afman
  4. Apprentice Mystery Event No. 1, Rope Splice: Fifth place Darren Donhauser
  5. Apprentice Mystery Event No. 2, Replace Insulator Armor Rod: Second place Darren Donhauser

PEC’s journeyman teams for the international rodeo were Charley Goines, Jayce Johnson, and Derek Morgan from the Kyle District, and Chris Gerchman, Nick Morris, and Asuncion Menchaca of the Canyon Lake District. The apprentice competitors included Garrit Afman, Evan Bradfield, Caleb Brodock, Neil Dodson, Darren Donhauser, and Joshua Herrick.

Congratulations to all on a great rodeo!