Cooperative News

PEC Board of Directors elects officers, extends financial assistance

Directors Pataki, Akers, and Rister to serve in officer roles

JOHNSON CITY, Texas — At its June meeting, the Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) Board of Directors elected officers for a one-year term. Board members elected Emily Pataki, district 2 director, to serve as board president and elected Amy Lea SJ Akers, district 7 director, to serve as vice president. The board also elected Milton Rister, district 1 director, as its secretary and treasurer. PEC’s board elects officers each year following the cooperative’s annual meeting, which took place June 19.

The 2020 election results were announced ahead of the meeting. PEC members in districts 2, 3, and 4 also reelected Emily Pataki, and elected Mark Ekrut and Travis Cox to serve on the cooperative’s board of directors.

While PEC will resume standard billing operations July 1, the Board voted to extend financial assistance for members affected by COVID-19 through Nov. 1. This includes the waiver of fees and deposits for eligible members who qualify for financial assistance through the COVID-19 Relief Fund.

“The needs of our membership remain our core focus at PEC. We want to provide them meaningful options during these difficult times,” said Emily Pataki, district 2 director and board president. “Supporting our members and communities exemplifies the cooperative spirit that drives PEC.”

If a member is experiencing financial hardship, PEC encourages them to contact them as soon as possible. Agents are standing by and are committed to finding a solution that works, including flexible payment options. Members can call PEC at 888-554-4732, Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. to speak with an agent directly.