PEC awards $100K in scholarships

35 outstanding local students win $2,500-5,000

PEC is proud to announce the recipients of our 2020 scholarships. A total of 35 outstanding students received $100,000 in awards ranging from $2,500 to $5,000. Due to state and local regulations regarding COVID-19, we were unable to hold a reception for this year’s winners. Instead, recipients were mailed a packet that included a congratulations letter and a sign announcing them as a scholarship winner. We also asked recipients to take a photo with their sign.

Recipients were selected from over 250 applications by a panel of independent judges based on their applicant profiles, including academic performance, community involvement, extracurricular activities, and financial need. Applicants also submitted an essay in which they identified how a PEC scholarship would help them achieve their educational and career goals.

“PEC’s scholarship program is just one of the many ways the cooperative supports local students,” said PEC Youth Engagement Representative Celeste Mikeska. “We are proud to play a small part in shaping the futures of these exceptional students as they continue their education and become leaders of our communities.”

PEC has supported local students through its scholarship program for more than 20 years. By supporting these local students, the program illustrates PEC’s commitment to the cooperative principle of “concern for communities.”

These scholarships can be used to pay expenses at any accredited university, college, junior college, technical school, or trade school. To learn more about PEC’s scholarship program, visit

$5,000 recipients

Barbara Gano, Leander High School

Brandon Robinson, Canyon Lake High School

Carson Hall, Dripping Springs High School

Kassidy LaForge, Smithson Valley

Talia Hanley, James Bowie High School


$2,500 recipients

Abigail Greene, Home School, Marble Falls

Alejandro Perez , Dripping Springs High School

Allegra Parker, Liberal Arts and Science Academy

Brylee Brandt, Liberty Hill High School

Caitlin Canada, Boerne Samuel V Champion HS

Carly Atwell, Liberal Arts and Science Academy

Christopher Gearing, Dripping Springs High School

Clayton Atkison, Burnet High School

Constantinos Skevofilax, Westwood High School

Cristina Kappmeyer, St. Michael’s Catholic Academy

Elizabeth Kubacki, AESA Prep Academy

Emily Norton, Faith Academy of Marble Falls

Holley Wright, Lampasas High School

Ibraheem Moosa, Liberal Arts and Science Academy

Jack O’Brien, James Bowie High School

Jessica Schmok, Dripping Springs High School

Joel Deleon, Lehman High School

Jonah Kelley, Lago Vista High School

Kenadee Stewart, Marble Falls High School

Kyler Meyers, Dripping Springs High School

Lauren Walker, Wimberley High School

Lindsi Thormahlen, Navarro High School

Madeleine Morris, Canyon Lake High School

Madison Haas, Primwood Academy

Mitchell Barnett, Blanco High School

Samuel Heidler, Jack C Hays High School

Shantika Ramsingh, Liberty Hill High School

Thomas Hristov, Lago Vista High School

Tyler Swan, Copperas Cove High School

Vani Shah, Westwood High School