Press Release

PRESS RELEASE: PEC announces 2021 Board of Director candidates

Ballot approved for elections in districts 1, 6, and 7

At its April board meeting, the Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) Board of Directors approved the ballot for the 2021 PEC election. Seven cooperative members will run for three director positions in districts 1, 6, and 7.

The following candidates qualify to run for seats on the board (their names are listed in the order in which they will appear on the ballot):

District 1

Anthony Hurley
Milton Rister

District 6

Doug Faseler
Dave Hindman
Paul Graf

District 7

Amy Lea SJ Akers
Andrew Wilson

These candidates achieved nomination by meeting the eligibility requirements in the cooperative’s bylaws, collecting 50 required member signatures on a petition, and completing other official paperwork. The qualifications and elections committee, which reviews each candidate applicant, provided their recommendation to the board at its April 23 meeting. The order of candidates on the ballot was determined by a random drawing.

Directors must reside in the district from which they are seeking election, and cooperative members from districts 1, 6, and 7 are eligible to vote in this year’s election.

PEC members are invited to learn more about the candidates by visiting

Voting in this year’s election begins May 19 and runs through June 11. Members may vote online, via PEC SmartHub on a computer, by mail, or in a PEC office. Members can also use a unique QR code found on their ballot to access the voting portal.

This year, the cooperative is offering voting incentives. Members who vote early will be entered into drawings to win bill credits for the following amounts: three prizes for $500 during the first week of voting (through May 26), five prizes for $250 the second week of voting (through June 2), and 25 prizes for $150 the third week of voting (through June 9). Winners will be announced June 18, at PEC’s Annual Meeting, but do not need to be present to win.

Election results will be announced June 15. Find complete PEC election details online at