PEC awards $100K in scholarships to area students

Recipients include high school seniors and adults

Awarding annual scholarships is one of many ways PEC gives back to our communities. This year, the cooperative provided $100,000 in scholarships to 39 outstanding students and members. For the first time ever, we awarded $2,500 scholarships to four adults seeking to advance their education. Additionally, 34 high school students received $2,500 awards and one high school student received a $5,000 scholarship. Funds will help students pay for expenses at any accredited university, college, junior college, technical school, or trade school.

Applicants submitted essays describing how they’ve demonstrated leadership or overcome obstacles. A panel of independent judges evaluated more than 500 applicants based on their academic performance, leadership, and financial need. Since beginning the program 21 years ago, PEC has provided more than $1.2 million in scholarships to area students.

“We’re pleased to help enrich our communities by investing in these students’ futures through our scholarship program,” said Celeste Mikeska, PEC youth engagement representative. “And because learning is a lifelong journey, we’re also excited to provide educational assistance to four adult learners,” said Mikeska. “In the years to come, we certainly look forward to the contributions these students will make in their communities.”

PEC’s history of supporting local students through scholarships, spans more than two decades and highlights our commitment to the communities we serve. To learn more about PEC’s scholarship program, visit Congratulations to our 2021 recipients!


High School Senior Recipients 

$5,000 award

  • Mainur Khan, Round Rock High School

$2,500 award

  • Addison Lusk, James Bowie High School
  • Adrine Vartanian, Rouse High School
  • Aiden Gasbarro, Vista Ridge High School
  • Anshika Katrodia, Vista Ridge High School
  • Bemnet Sileshi, Cedar Park High School
  • Caedon Spencer, James Bowie High School
  • Caroline Olson, Dripping Springs High School
  • Carter King, Dripping Springs High School
  • Casey Murphy, San Marcos High School
  • Chloe Kelly, Founders Classical Academy of Leander
  • Christie Ranelli, Rouse High School
  • Claire O’Keefe, Cedar Park High School
  • Emily Arguelles, Ranch Trail Academy
  • Emily Carley, Burnet High School
  • Emily Peterson, Marble Falls High School
  • Haley Polser, Liberty Hill High School
  • Jenna Shea, Hill Country Christian Homeschoolers
  • Kailey Foster, Westwood High School
  • Kayla Frank, McNeil High School
  • Kennedy Bailey, Georgetown High School
  • Konnor Bye, Liberty Hill High School
  • Liam Spencer, James Bowie High School
  • Lyssa Frank, McNeil High School
  • Mackenzie Krause, Tom Glenn High School
  • Makayla Banton, Dripping Springs High School
  • Michael Collard, Marble Falls High School
  • Miles Fields, Marble Falls High School
  • Priyanka Gupta, Westwood High School
  • Raylee Faris, Blanco High School
  • Reef Doss, Jack C. Hays High School
  • Susannah Shell, Grace Academy of Georgetown
  • Ty Dahlstrom, Dahlstrom Academy
  • Victor Falcon, Jack C. Hays High School
  • Zachary Eilers, James Bowie High School

Non-traditional recipients — $2,500 award

  • Heather Wagner, Blanco
  • Megan Boyd, Kyle
  • Najeia Besiso, Austin
  • Yvette Canales, Leander