Cooperative News

PEC awards $100K in scholarships to area students

Recipients include high school seniors and adults

Awarding annual scholarships is one of many ways PEC shows support for communities. This year, the cooperative awarded $100,000 in scholarships to 39 outstanding students. Ten high school students received awards for $2,750, while another 25 received $2,500 awards. Additionally, four PEC members seeking to advance their education as adults also received $2,500 awards.

Students may use their PEC scholarship funds to pay for expenses at any accredited university, college, junior college, technical school, or trade school.

Applicants submitted essays describing what personal characteristics they believe will make them successful in college. A panel of independent judges evaluated more than 430 applicants based on their academic performance, leadership, and financial need. Since beginning the program 22 years ago, PEC has provided more than $1.3 million in scholarships to area students.

“It’s an incredibly rewarding feeling to be able to contribute to our communities through our scholarship program,” said Celeste Mikeska, PEC community outreach specialist. “We’re proud to be part of such an impactful cause, one that has the potential to positively shape generations of families and communities in the area,” said Mikeska.

PEC’s history of supporting local students through scholarships spans more than two decades and highlights our commitment to the communities we serve. To learn more about PEC’s scholarship program, visit Congratulations to our 2022 recipients!

High School Senior Recipients

$2,750 award

  • Nathan Viloria, Round Rock High School
  • Ryan Shook, McNeil High School
  • Abby Hemann, Leander High School
  • Elizabeth Haegelin, Smithson Valley High School
  • Kellen Cao, Cedar Park High School
  • Harrison Mayhew, Wimberley High School
  • Irini Skevofilax, Westwood High School
  • Evangelina McCabe, St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School
  • Catarina Vazquez, San Marcos Academy
  • Sabrina Watson, Westwood High School

$2,500 award

  • Anika Trehan, Leander High School
  • Dominic Gearing, Dripping Springs High School
  • Jade Kahle, Vista Ridge High School
  • Catherine Chaison, Tom Glenn High School
  • Grace Williams, Hill Country Christian School of Austin
  • Weston Kirk, Dripping Springs High School
  • Arysta Visser, Dripping Springs High School
  • Noah Sherman, Samuel V. Champion High School
  • Paridhi Latawa, Liberal Arts and Science Academy
  • Holden May, Acton Academy
  • Ava Mashburn, McNeil High School
  • Grace Yake, McNeil High School
  • Maura Ibanez, Lyndon B. Johnson High School
  • Soleil Johnson, Jack C. Hays High School
  • Adrian Campa, Jack C. Hays High School
  • Addie Fusig, Junction High School
  • Jacqueline Creel, Lake Travis High School
  • Natalie Vargas, Jack C. Hays High School
  • Kylie Hernandez, Rouse High School
  • Aanyah Abdullah, Westwood High School
  • Austin John, Round Rock High School
  • Audrey Balsdon, Dripping Springs High School
  • Trey Hoffmann, Canyon Lake High School
  • Ian Martin, Smithson Vallley High School
  • Hudson McBryde, Marble Falls High School

Non-traditional recipients (adult PEC members) — $2,500 award

  • Nojma Muhammad, Cedar Park
  • Joseph Yanosky, Canyon Lake
  • Matthew Bridges, Buda
  • Toby Porter, Kyle