PEC celebrates 85 years with 85 scholarships

Co-op awards $100K to power continued education for area students

PEC’s history of supporting local students through scholarships spans more than two decades and highlights our commitment to the communities we serve.

In honor of PEC’s 85th anniversary of powering the Texas Hill Country, the cooperative recently awarded $100,000 in scholarships to 85 outstanding area students. Scholarships awarded ranged from $1,000 to $3,500 to 73 high school students and 12 adult members seeking to further their education. Students may use these funds to pay for expenses at any accredited university, college, junior college, technical school, or trade school.

Applicants submitted essays describing a time when they didn’t succeed and what they learned from the experience. A panel of independent judges evaluated nearly 500 applicants based on their academic performance, leadership, and financial need. Since beginning the program 24 years ago, PEC has provided more than $1.4 million in scholarships to area students.

“This year we received more scholarship applications than ever before, so we thought it fitting to commemorate PEC’s anniversary with a record number of awards,” said PEC Community Outreach Specialist Celeste Mikeska. “We know this is one of the most impactful ways to show our community we care, and we’re overjoyed to play a part in shaping the learning and futures of these area students.”

Those who earned scholarships in 2023 are:

Marble Falls

Emma Boerm, Marble Falls High School

Taylor Clark, adult member

Enrique Loredo, adult member

Mackenzie Farmer, Marble Falls High School

Gretchen Hanneman, Marble Falls High School

Jordan Jones, Marble Falls High School

Kara Kwan, Faith Academy of Marble Falls

Elizabeth Lilly, Homeschool


Aedan McLennan, Burnet High School 


Owen Stubbs, Lampasas High School


Hailey Gonzalez, adult member

Katherine Griffith, Rouse High School

Delainey Jones, Rouse High School

Dylan Kline, adult member

Akhil Perla, Tom Glenn High School

Lauryn Rios, Homeschool

Liberty Hill

Abigail Bolanos, Liberty Hill High School

Kennedy Bye, Liberty Hill High School

Robert Irwin, adult member

Carlton Schrank, Liberty Hill High School

Cedar Park

Pedro Gabriel Amorim Camara, Vista Ridge High School

Noah Bethapudi, Vista Ridge High School

Rhodesia DeShazer, adult member

Kaci Craddock, Cedar Park High School

Aidan Cruz, Vista Ridge High School

Ashton Eastwood, Vista Ridge High School

John Fell, Cedar Park High School

Sydney Fielding, Cedar Park High School

Laura Hunter, Cedar Park High School

Julianne Insall, Vista Ridge High School

Claire Poulter, Cedar Park High School

Aarjav Vani, Vista Ridge High School

Paula Warren, Vista Ridge High School

Round Rock

Abbigail Arcaya, Westwood High School

Akshay Gaitonde, Westwood High School

Ayush Pai, Round Rock High School

Brandi Tai, Westwood High School

Vibha Velur, Westwood High School 


Landyn Colburn, Georgetown High School

Josie Gerdes, Georgetown High School

Jasmine Lupo, adult member

Lago Vista

Christopher Minjarez, adult member

Johnson City

Kori-mei Fiero, LBJ High School

Hadley Snodgrass, LBJ High School


Madison Kinley Felps, Blanco High School


Alan Bao, Liberal Arts and Science Academy (LASA)

Kaelyn Bombick, Lake Travis High School

Jonathan Calvert, Veritas Academy

Isabelle Detrich, James Bowie High School

Esther Laiming, Homeschool

Ella Lutz-Carrillo, Akins High School

Ava Perry, adult member

Christine Tian, Liberal Arts and Science Academy (LASA)

Addison Vickers, Lake Travis High School

Kelvin Wang, Anderson High School

Ian Watson-Hemphill, Acton Academy


Caitlin Brock, Moe and Gene Johnson High School

Lauren Craig, adult member

Robert Farrell, Moe and Gene Johnson High School

Reannah Nolte, Moe and Gene Johnson High School

Chloe Schiener, Jack C. Hays High School


Ana Garza, adult member

Dripping Springs

Jakob Becker, Dripping Springs High School

Julia Carter, Dripping Springs High School

Evelyn Chis, Dripping Springs High School

Mattie Gretzinger, Dripping Springs High School

Margot Heltzel, Dripping Springs High School

James Lee, Dripping Springs High School

Perri Parnell, Dripping Springs High School

John Martinez, Dripping Springs High School

Camryn Sulser, Dripping Springs High School

Katherine Tressler, Dripping Springs High School

Jackson Ledbetter, U.S. Performance Academy

San Marcos

Kaelen Hatton, adult member


Brayden Chambliss, Wimberley High School

Bryce Phillips, Wimberley High School

Jacob Rose Parks, Clyde High School

Emmie Van DeWalle, Wimberley High School

Spring Branch

Grace Guest, Smithson Valley High School

Ryan Harkin, Smithson Valley High School

Emma Siebold, Smithson Valley High School


Elora Wheat, Homeschool


Matthey Francis, Boerne High School

Jaclyn Purchatzke, Samuel V. Champion High School

Turner Rey, Samuel V. Champion High School

Congratulations to our 2023 recipients! To learn more about PEC’s scholarship program, visit