Johnson City employees bake their best for PEC

Cooperative hosts bake-off competition to celebrate 85th anniversary

PEC employees and their families gathered at the cooperative’s headquarters in Johnson City September 26, to put their best baked goods forward in celebration of the co-op’s 85th anniversary.

Entries ranged from cakes and cookies to pies and a variety of delicious confections. Johnson City Mayor Stephanie Fisher; Becki Mayes, pastry chef and owner of The Jittery Biscuit; and Bart Burkhard, Johnson City Chamber of Commerce Board Director and Co-chair of Lights Spectacular, served as the competition’s grand prize judges.

Even Wattson Raccoon, PEC’s mascot for Camp Save-a-Watt™ and youth programs made an appearance at the event to taste some treats and pose for photos. Employees who didn’t compete still had a chance to participate by taste testing entries with a $5 donation to benefit PEC’s Power of Change Program.

The following employees and their entries were named winners in their respective categories:

Grand Prize: Selected by Fisher, Mayes, and Burkhard based on appearance, taste, and texture.

  • Audri Nelson, PEC compliance specialist — When Life Throws You Lemons, Make Cake and Eat it Too

People’s Choice: Selected by employees.

  • Meghan Ingram, PEC accounts payable specialist — Crazy Cool Co-op Carrot Cake

Lucky Draw: Selected by a random draw of entries, except those selected as the Grand Prize and People’s Choice award winners.

  • DeAnn Hernandez, PEC member relations control center specialist — Chocolate Chip Cookies

Members can find more information on PEC’s history and upcoming anniversary celebrations online at

Related Stories

Circuit Builder inset photo

Educators can apply now to be considered for a kit PEC offers a variety of youth programs that support our

The Texas Hill Country will be in the path of the total solar eclipse on April 8. Because of this,

Free web-based resource available to teachers, parents, and community members FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (JOHNSON CITY, Texas) February 27, 2024 —